An Excerpt from “Cricket Song”

Storm-and-Sand-DuneSo, my intermediate Fiction Writing Workshop class is looming on the horizon and, with my usual workload of kids, work, and life in general, I decided to get a jump on things and start the first required short story.  Below is a snippet from my latest piece titled “Cricket Song.”

It’s a short story about stepping back from the rush and hectic pace life throws at you and finding what makes you feel whole – a lesson learned by a woman on the edge of 30 from her cherished Gran.

“I love the sea with all its angry tirades and calm, steady rhythms. I love the sting of salt-scented air and the cry of gulls that ride the cresting waves.  I love looking out over its vast horizon and, when the sun rises each morning…I live for the way it makes me feel as though I’m staring into tomorrow. The town may be tiny, but this ocean makes it so much bigger than Manhattan; in truth, it makes me feel just a bit insignificant.  And the most profound accomplishment this body of water afforded me where Manhattan failed was the ability to release myself from a relentless search for a place in the crowd.

There’s a difference between being lonely and being alone: one is a reflection on the absence of others – a compulsion to find a road most traveled and, on it, a kind of connected energy; while the other is a luxury – an unfiltered acknowledgement of your own power and the stunning realization that you can, and should, make your way down a road of your own creation.  There are many paths that people walk through life but, in the end, we all eventually find our way to the same place.  In the end, the only thing that really matters is how we conducted ourselves and how we lived our lives on the paths of our own creation.” – Nathalie, Cricket Song, 2015

2 thoughts on “An Excerpt from “Cricket Song”

    1. babarham

      Thank you, Stephanie! Let me know if you’d like to read the whole thing, I can forward it over – and I’d really love to hear your thoughts on it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

